Waiting

Waiting–it is defined by Dictionary.com as “a period of waiting; pause, interval, or delay.” Words such as inactive, repose, neglected, postponed, and halted were also used. All words which aren’t particularly welcome in Western culture especially among Western Christians. We want what we want when we want it, and no delay is permitted–Misbehaving child (Start behaving right now!); Doctor can’t see you until September (Can you make that any sooner?); You haven’t been healed yet? (You must not believe in God enough.); The piece of equipment can’t be here for three weeks. (Oh, I really need that here next week.).

We have dinners that can be fixed in five minutes (Yay, microwaves!) and texts which can be typed and sent in less than five minutes. I remember a line which was said in one of my favorite TV shows. One of the main characters was trying to send a text to a girl he liked, and the other character told him to just call her. He said in response, “No one calls anymore. Her and her friends. They only text.” Of course, the power going off forever less than five minutes later might have put a kink in that thought. 🙂

All laughing aside, we don’t like to wait. None of us do. God has plenty to say about waiting in Scripture though. I typed the words wait and waiting into You Version’s search engine, and many references come up. So many, in fact, that there is no way I could quote every one of them. I’ll quote just a few to make my point.

Psalm 27:14 says, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”

Another one is from Psalm 130. Verse 5 says, “I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.”

I like Lamentations 3:24. “I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.'”

Micah 7:7 says, “But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.”

There are many more where those came from. Why, then, do we have such a hard time with waiting? Why do we ask the question that the writer asked in Psalm 119:84? “How long must your servant wait? When will you punish my persecutors?” Why does Job wait for almost the entire book before God answers him? Why did the disciples have to wait three days before Jesus rose from the dead?

Let me bring the questions into the twenty-first century. Why has he/she been diagnosed with whatever fatal disease? How come it takes so long to get a diagnosis? Why does a little girl die from injuries sustained in a car accident? Why does it take so long to get a new job? Does God not know that it takes money to live down here? I laugh and then tell myself, ‘Of course He does. There are many people existing on far less than I have.’ That thought makes me feel bad, but then, I think of what my family and I are going through. It’s not that one piece of suffering is more worthy of God’s attention than another. All suffering is worthy in His eyes.

How can we enter into the life of someone who is waiting? First, we don’t castigate someone for being upset about waiting. Waiting is hard, harder than we can possible imagine. Second, we can be present and not say anything at all. Listening can be the most important thing to someone who is waiting. Another thing we can do is give input if it is asked for keeping in mind that all of us deal with situations differently. Finally, we can pray for the person and especially pray for strength and endurance. They might be waiting for a long time and knowing that someone is praying for them through this waiting season can mean everything to them.

Praying for all of us in waiting seasons right now.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

