Forgotten, Not a Chance

All of us worry that we’re going to be forgotten after we’re gone. I think that’s why we have such a strong urge to leave something of ourselves behind. I will admit that’s one of the reasons I write. I want to get my words down so people will know what I thought and felt at a particular time and to preserve a record for my family. Writing is a desire, a gift that God has given to me.

Other people use different forms of creativity to satisfy this drive to leave something of themselves behind. Artists, musicians, architects–the possibilities are limitless. How many of us have looked at works by Monet or Van Gogh? What about listening to works by Mozart or Beethoven? Their names are remembered hundreds of years after their deaths. I’m sure one hundred years from now people will remember the names of artists, writers, and musicians from this age through the works they created.

Still others fulfill this desire by having children and pouring themselves into raising them or having a career that would be characterized as a helping profession. The possibilities are endless, and more often than not, we fulfill these desires in more than one way–like having children and being a writer or being a teacher and being a musician or being a nurse and being an artist. God has given us these gifts.

While I just stated these desires of wanting to leave something of ourselves can be honoring to God, I want to point out that God does not and will not ever forget us. Even if we’re forgotten after we’re gone or we’re forgotten while we’re still here, God does not forget us. It says so in His Word. Isaiah 49:15-16 says, “I will not forget you. I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.”

Another example comes from Psalm 9:18. “But God will never forget the needy; the hope of the afflicted will never perish.”

Still another comes from Isaiah 44:21. “Remember these things, Jacob, for you, Israel, are my servant. I have made you, you are my servant; Israel, I will not forget you.”

And finally, from Hebrews 6:10. “God is not unjust, he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them.”

I will admit though that sometimes I feel forgotten here–that what I do here does not matter. During those times, I push and push on my writing so the words will come, and I will have something concrete to leave in this world. I run with my feelings and forget what God has done for me so I’m not in His will. Even though the desire to write is God-given and can be God-honoring, God wants it done with Him in mind and not because we are trying to honor and spotlight ourselves. So, when I haven’t been in His will, I have struggled to write and the words have not come. God doesn’t want it to be that way. He wants us to use our gifts for Him and for us to be in the center of His will when we do. That means I need to know Whose I am, to be in the center of His will, and to use the gifts He has given me to touch people for His Kingdom. Jesus, first; me, last. Always!

 

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Forgotten, Not a Chance”

Leave a Reply

