Forty Reasons Why I Write

Thought I would focus on my writing side today since I read about this challenge on the Positive Writer blog and decided to participate. http://positivewriter.com/reasons-why-write-challenge/  I’ve written about the reasons why I write before, but it was more of a telling of my own story and what led me back to writing after going away from it as a young adult. Writing down the reasons themselves will be a good exercise for me. So, without further adieu and in no particular order, here are the forty reasons why I write.

1) I write because I can be honest with myself.

2) I write because I need to get the words out of my head.

3) I write because it’s the best way I communicate. When I talk, I have a tendency to stumble over my words. I don’t have that problem with writing.

4) I write because I like telling stories.

5) I write to give people hope.

6) I write to help with my depression.

7) I write because I want to keep a record of my life.

8) I write because it helps me not to feel alone.

9) I write to honor the gift my Lord and Savior has given me.

10) I write because it helps me be a better teacher. (I homeschool my son.)

11) I write because it helps me make sense of the craziness in this world.

12) I write because I like “happily ever after” endings.

13) I write because I want to leave something of myself behind.

14) I write so I can write the bad parts of my life in my journal and leave them there.

15) I write because I like finding just the right word to put in a sentence.

16) I write because I can’t imagine giving it up.

17) I write because it’s my way to escape.

18) I write because I dream.

19) I write because I like to see filled up pages.

20) I write because it reflects who I am.

21) I write because I want my grandchildren to read what I wrote just like I read what my grandmother wrote.

22) I write to share my faith.

23) I write because I would like to be on someone’s bookshelf or Kindle one day.

24) I write because I want to encourage people.

25) I write because I like to build different worlds.

26) I write because it takes me back to my childhood.

27) I write because it helps me remember.

28) I write because I’m not the typical woman my parents would like me to be.

29) I write because I’m a geek and a nerd.

30) I write so I won’t be confused.

31) I write because I want to make a difference

32) I write because I like creating something out of nothing.

33) I write to bring closure to my past.

34) I write because I want to be heard.

35) Writing is cheaper than therapy.

36) I write because it has changed my life.

37) I write because it reflects more of who I am. (I’m not just a wife or a mom.)

38) I write because I like creating characters.

39) I write because I like it when someone tells me my writing meant something to them.

40) And finally, especially this week, I write so I won’t be jealous that half of my town is in the Caribbean for spring break. 🙂

Leave a Reply

