The Muck and the Mire

One of my more unusual titles, I think, and it got you to look which was the point. 🙂 While we’re still living in this world and not in heaven with God, we’re going to spend time in the muck and the mire, some, more than others. It started me wondering yesterday, and thinking of questions which I thought I would share with you this afternoon.

What does it mean to be Jesus’ hands and feet? My relationship with God has come to the forefront over the last few years, and I consider it more of a priority than I did before we moved here. I pray, study, go to church, and consider what God wants me to do in situations that come up. I’m not trying to brag, far from it. I know I am still a broken human being, but God has become more real to me than He has ever been.

So, back to my question. What does it really mean to be Jesus’ hands and feet? Does it mean going on mission trips or participating in church activities? Does it mean being kind and loving towards everyone you come in contact with? Does it mean having a particular political bent? Ugh, don’t get me started on politics. 🙂

What about paying for someone’s cup of coffee or meal which is the latest “do-good” thing? How about paying for someone’s groceries? Or talking to a cashier who seems sad? Or giving money to the homeless man at the intersection?

What about taking on extra work for someone at your job who is dealing with an illness? What about going to visit someone at the hospital? What about pulling over when someone has car trouble and waiting with them until help comes? Or pulling over at the scene of an accident and waiting with the people until help comes?

Yes, I believe these are all examples of being Jesus’ hands and feet, but why is it such a big deal when someone does something like this? Why don’t more of us who are professed Christians display these helping acts as part of their lifestyle? I think there are several reasons. One, we are selfish. We don’t want to come out of our comfort zones to help people. Two, we are afraid for our safety. Three, we don’t have the training to help like I was thinking with my car repair or accident examples. I could have stopped in those examples though and provided comfort, but I didn’t.

Where does this leave us? Does God just want us to do the best we can and forget the rest? I know He doesn’t want us to do things in exchange for our salvation. That’s where grace comes in like the cover verses for this blog state. But, if He has truly changed our hearts, shouldn’t we want to do some of these things? Shouldn’t we want to give money and share our talents with the church body? Shouldn’t we want to be Jesus’ hands and feet and not say this is a job for the church staff or elders? Has Jesus really changed our hearts if we don’t want to show the love of our Lord and Savior?

There’s one more question to consider. Do we still help someone if their life hasn’t changed after the first encounter? Someone who has gone back to their old sins? Someone whose point in asking for help was to take advantage? I don’t know. Actually, my first thought is to say no because I was taken advantage of. I judge, and I condemn because of the sin committed towards me. I might even point out there are no examples in Scripture of someone coming to Jesus a second time. Did they? We don’t know. Maybe we don’t know because the writers of Scripture inspired by God didn’t want our natural and sinful judgmental tendencies to come out. I think the answer might be yes though. A second time, a third time, whatever it takes to change their lives though I resist because I want to judge as many of you would.

As I get to the end of this post, I realize I have created more questions than answers. I want to get past my sin nature of judging and condemning someone for their sins. I want to be Jesus’ hands and feet to the world around me. I guess the best answer I can give is to listen to the whisper of God when faced with a possible helping situation. May we all listen to God’s whisper.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

4 thoughts on “The Muck and the Mire”

Leave a Reply

