Monday’s Quiet Moments

Jesus said this to the disciples in Mark 6. “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” It was said after ministry had been done and amazing things had happened. Jesus knew his disciples would need rest after all their efforts which is why He made the offer.

It got me though to thinking of my own life and what I do to balance between activity and rest. It also made me think of when I hear God’s voice the most. Surprisingly enough, I hear it the most when I’m quiet. When the distractions of this world are few and my mind is focused on God. That day, for me, strangely enough, is on Monday. A day when I have time to reflect on what I’ve heard on Sunday and let it penetrate to the deepest reaches of my being. A day when I can think about how I need to apply Sunday’s message to my own life. A day when I can hear God speaking to me with clarity.

That’s doesn’t mean there is anything wrong with Sunday. Far from it! On Sundays, I pray just like I pray every other day of the week. I gather with my Christian brothers and sisters to worship. The angels sing as we pour out our hearts to God in worship–as we sing, as we pray, as we listen and the message cements itself on our hearts. God wants us to gather in community to worship Him just as much as He wants us to listen to Him in the quiet. I do my best to practice both of these sides of my faith–dichotomous though they might me, but I fail often especially at taking the moments just to listen to God.

So, during this Lenten season, on Mondays especially, but every day particularly, I plan on doing what was suggested yesterday during the sermon at my church. To take my time of contemplation and listening to God to a deeper level. To ask the question, Jesus, what do you want me to know of you? To develop a desperation and reinforce my dependency on the only One who is enough–my Lord and Savior. To know that His love for me knows no bounds and to be able to turn that love back on everyone in my community.

If I have nothing else in my life, my Lord and Savior is enough! I look forward to exploring this love more fully and deeply as is stated in John 13:34-35.

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

