Laying Our Burdens Down

We’ve heard this phrase more often than not in our churches. Jesus even speaks specifically of this in Scripture. Matthew 11:28-30 says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Jesus wants to do this for all of us. Why is it so tough then for us to do–to leave our burdens at His feet? There are three reasons I want to highlight here though I don’t doubt there are more.

First, we like to think we are in control of our lives. We are doing the work it takes to survive in this world, and we are the ones who are coping with the situations that arise in our lives. The stress from difficult situations has a tendency to beat us down and leave us in a vulnerable situation. This should be when we want to give it to God, but we think we are the ones in control of our own destinies, and we refuse to do so. Or we think that someone else’s situation is worse than ours and God wouldn’t have any time to help us.

Another reason is closely related to the first one. We think we know better than God. I’m dealing with this one now. Someone has told me they feel inadequate before God–that doing tasks is more important than the grace we are all given when we accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior. I know that’s not right, but I haven’t been able to convince the other person. This has been frustrating for me, and I haven’t been able to figure out the next steps I should take. God didn’t leave me alone with this one though. The other day He told me to pray for this person and then leave it with Him. So, I have been. Praying, I mean. That part is easy. The leaving it with God and not picking it back up is a whole lot harder. But, I’m working on it.

The final reason is fear–fear of judgment by other people and especially by our Christian brothers and sisters. If a particular situation is not being handled appropriately, we worry that people will judge us, and that makes us pick the situation back up. So much for Jesus carrying our burdens. 😦

Like I said before, I know there are more reasons than these for not letting Jesus carry our burdens. These are just the ones that are affecting my life at the moment. It is hard, so hard, to give up the illusion of control and to truly lay our burdens at Jesus’ feet. We can’t do it on our own. We need to say the words of a song I’m listening to now. Lord, I need you. Because we need Him to be in our heart as we lay our burdens at His feet. So thankful for my Lord and Savior who never gives up on any of us!

Praying God’s blessings on all of us today!

2 thoughts on “Laying Our Burdens Down”

Leave a Reply

