Honest Worship

I’ve been considering this for the past few days and how God wants us to approach it. Worship is our theme on Wednesday nights this month, and it has brought me to this question. What does God want from us when we worship?

In today’s society, worship has often meant keeping our hearts closed and offering empty promises to God. We think if we open our hearts and show our true selves, God won’t want our worship, and everyone else will think we’re weird. At least, that’s true for me.

But, God wants us to open our hearts and bring our true selves to worshiping Him. He knows it all anyway so there’s really no point in hiding it even though we try to.

There are also plenty of examples in Scripture of how we’re to worship. John 4:23 says, “Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.” Wow, God seeks  those who will worship Him truthfully. Yes, I know He is probably looking for those who truthfully believe in Him, but I think truthfully can also represent what is going on in our lives. He wants us to bring Him the good, the bad, and the ugly. That’s the first crack in the wall I’ve built against honest worship.

Another example comes from Nehemiah 9. Verse 6 says, “You alone are the Lord. You make the heavens, even the highest heavens, and all their starry host, the earth and all that is on it, the seas and all that is in them. You give life to everything, and the multitudes of heaven worship you.” We’re supposed to worship God, no matter what, and no matter what we bring.

More examples come from the book of Psalms. I’ll quote two of them here. Psalm 27:4 says, “One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.” Other people shouldn’t factor in our worship, and I have let them overshadow this verse for me. I want to dwell with God always, and that includes giving Him the worship and honor He deserves.

Finally, and this is the biggest thing for me, I have God’s forgiveness when I confess my sins. Psalm 130:4 says, “But with you there is forgiveness, so that we can, with reverence, serve you.” Knowing that we have God’s forgiveness helps praise and worship to bubble up in my heart to where it has no choice, but to spill out. That, I believe, is what answers the question of what God wants from us when we worship. I pray that all of us experience so much of His love and grace today that it has no choice, but to bubble up out of us and that we are so overwhelmed with it, we have no choice, but to praise and worship our Lord and Savior.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Honest Worship”

Leave a Reply

