Light in the Midst of Darkness

I spoke of my depression on Monday and how I felt like I had been walking through darkness and having to put one foot in front of the other without knowing where I was going. Today, I want to talk about how there has been light in the midst of my darkness.

Sometimes, the light has come in tiny wisps, and other times, a bright spotlight has shined at one place along the road to show that God has not forgotten me or my pain. One of those wisps has been at my favorite writing place. We live in an apartment complex near a lake, and one of the many walking trails leads down to the edge of the lake where there is a stone bench. I have spent many hours gazing at the lake as I’ve poured out my heart on paper. It’s an up close and personal view of God’s creation. It’s peaceful there, a feeling I haven’t been able to feel anywhere else recently. I’m not sure if it’s because of the lack of people or just the stillness in the midst of chaos. Maybe both.

The light I see in the sky reminds me of the light spoken of in Scripture. There are so many examples which have encouraged me, but I will only quote a few.

Isaiah 9:2 says, “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned.”

Another example comes from 2 Corinthians 4:6. “For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ.”

Revelation 22:5 was a great encouragement to me. “There will be no more night. They will not need the light of a lamp or the light of the sun, for the Lord God will give them light. And they will reign for ever and ever.”

And finally, from 2 Samuel 22:29. “You, Lord, are my lamp; the Lord turns my darkness into light.”

The last verse brought it all into focus. God is my lamp. Without Him in my life, all I have is complete darkness without the possibility of any light. I don’t want that. Not by a long shot. So, I hold onto God with all of my might and have faith that He will put light in my path just when I need it. It doesn’t mean I won’t have darkness or pain. It means He will walk with me through it.

That brings me to the spotlight God gave me at the beginning of this week. My son turned in an essay assignment for our homeschool. It was his testimony. I read it and started to cry. Even with the mess we have gone through for the last five years and are still continuing to go through, we have made an impact on his life and brought him to a saving knowledge of God. His writing was very deep and personal so I’m not going to share it anywhere, but it was something God knew I needed to read. A spotlight, so to speak, and something to bolster my faith.

I’m grateful for the wisps of light and the spotlights in the midst of my darkness, and I pray that we will all see the light God puts in our paths today as evidence of His presence.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

