Praising God

Yesterday, in church, our pastor talked about praising God and celebration. Two things that go hand in hand. Many of the psalms speak of this as well including the text he used. Psalm 145:1-2 says, “I will exalt you, my God the King; I will praise your name for ever and ever. Every day I will praise you and extol your name for ever and ever.”

Many of us don’t do this the way we should. Our problems and our worries take up most of our thoughts, and we try to get rid of them by thinking, hoping, strategizing, and praying about them. But, we miss out on something when we don’t praise God, and I found that out yesterday.

We’ve only had worship service the last few weeks because of the holidays and the icy weather here yesterday so my routine has been a bit different. I came with my husband early for him to help with the media, and ended up playing with the children of the other guy who helps. It has been a true joy to be around small children again. They look at life in a much different way than adults or even teenagers. I ended up sitting with them too. For two of the weeks, I was the official “babysitter” because their mother was working, and the other week I sat with all three of them. I am truly thankful for the friendship I am starting to build with them. Between changing  where I was sitting in the auditorium to do this and sitting with people who wanted me there, my outlook has changed, and I can see more clearly the good God has brought into my life.

I think that’s the point of praising Him. Even when the big things are bad, there have always been little things to praise Him for. Verses 9-10 of Psalm 145 illustrate this. “The Lord is good to all; he has compassion on all he has made. All your works praise you, Lord; your faithful people extol you.” All. Not just some. Not just the good things. Not the bad things either. All He has made.

So, I was thinking along these lines during the service. The things in my life I could praise God for. And it was a lot more than I thought. At the end of the service, a video filled with pictures from 2016 was shown. All of the special things that had happened at my church during 2016. I had been involved with many of them. Then, I got teary-eyed. This place and this group of people have come to mean a great deal to me in the four and a half years I’ve been here. God used them to bring me back to Him, and my faith has been the strongest it has ever been.Then, our pastor called people who served in different capacities to the front as well as those of us who had participated in the life of our church in 2016. Everyone except the people who worked at the media desk ended up front. We all laid hands on each other, and he spoke a prayer over us. It was very inspiring and did wonders for my heart. I will have to make sure the guys behind the media desk get called up next time though so my husband won’t be able to say he got out of something. 🙂

As I end this post, I want to quote two more verses from Psalm 145. They make a point of saying that we need to share all the ways we can praise God and make sure our children are also praising Him for all the works He has done in our lives. Verses 3-4 say, “Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom. One generation commends your works to another; they tell of your mighty acts.” May we all always look to God and celebrate His goodness!

Praying God’s blessings on you all today!

Leave a Reply

