Not Broken Anymore

When we first came to the church we’re members of now, I remember how the pastor spoke of how we were all broken even him. I appreciated hearing that so much because just about every other pastor I’ve ever had has held themselves above the rest of their congregations and pretended they were better than everyone else. I knew this wasn’t true, and the blatant hypocrisy was damaging to my faith.

Over the last four and a half years though, I’ve become stronger in my faith, and I have a lot of the people I’ve met here to thank for it. I’ve learned how to give; I’ve learned how to share; I’ve learned how to study; and I’ve learned how to listen for God’s voice. Knowing that I am broken and not perfect and knowing that my Christian sisters and brothers were broken and not perfect has helped me to get closer to Jesus and to what He wants for us.

With this background, I’ve come to a conclusion that is freeing for me though it might not make sense to the rest of you. First, let me start off with what I do know. I am broken, and I come to Christ broken. I don’t amount to anything without my Lord and Savior. This is knowledge that reaches into the depths of my being. At the same time though, with the beginning of a new year, a new thought comes to me. I don’t want to see myself as broken anymore. I know it’s a dichotomy. Knowing that I’m broken while not seeing myself as broken. Like I said, it might not make sense to you, but it’s starting to make sense to me. I am perfect–with Jesus in me. I am God’s daughter no matter what. I’m gonna make mistakes, but with God’s grace and His forgiveness, He doesn’t see them anymore. That gives me such joy and a reason not to see myself as broken even though I am.

Just in case you’re wondering though, that doesn’t give me or any other person who is a believer carte blanche to act however they want knowing that God will forgive them. The evidence of God’s presence in our lives is seen by how we act and behave, and if we keep doing things contrary to what He wants from us, non-believers would be right to wonder if God is really in our lives. I don’t want people to think that of me. My goal is to have people see more of Jesus and less of me.

So, in this first week of the new year, I am excited to share my joy about not being broken anymore, and I pray for that certainty for you all as well!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Not Broken Anymore”

  1. What a great testimony, and witness to God’s grace! So glad to journey with you, being simultaneously broken and healed through Christ. As Luther put it: “simul justus et peccator”–(at the same time just and sinner). This is a freeing truth that allows us to live confidently before God and allowing the Spirit to continue His sanctifying work. Thanks for being a living interpretation of this fundamental, Gospel truth!

Leave a Reply

