Write Despite

As most of you know, 2016 was a rough time for me and my family. I’ve realized something though. I managed to do something in the middle of all the mess. I posted in this blog every month of the year, more than once. I proved to myself that I do have something to say which I plan to carry into 2017.

I was thinking of what I wanted my writing goal to be for 2017, and I found it when I was reading another author’s blog. Chuck Wendig stated what I’ve actually been doing for this past year. “Write, despite.” I’ve written despite pain, despite sorrow and despite fear. Especially fear. Fear that I won’t be accepted. Fear that I’ll never get it right. Fear that I’ll fail at relationships and end up alone.

But, I’ve made some positive changes in the past year and plan on going in the same direction this year. The only one whose approval I need is my Lord and Savior’s. No one else matters, but Him. And it’s been by writing despite everything that I’ve understood this.

So, going forward with this goal sounds like a good idea to me. Write my stories down. Write in this blog. Write in my journals. Write to bring glory to my Lord and Savior. Just keep writing and don’t quit.

I especially liked this quote by Chuck Wendig that I’m going to end with. “Write no matter what, write anyway, and write always.” That is my goal for this year.

May God bless you all today!

Leave a Reply

