The Twilight Time

Every year, I get to this point and think something should be happening during this time, but it never does. I finally decided this year to give it a name. So, drum roll here. The week between Christmas and New Years is known as the twilight time. Yes, some people have to work while others are on holiday, but, for the most part, not a lot gets done. For those who are working, the main thing that is generally said is, ‘Let’s wait until after the new year to get that done,’ while those who are on vacation are in relaxation mode and not thinking about work at all until after the new year.

For me though, this week has turned into a week of consideration. A week to consider what I’ve done right this year and what I’ve done wrong. And I have done plenty wrong as I’m sure you all have. I’ve let down my family and my friends in many ways, and I’ve not let Jesus lead me the way I should. As Paul says in Romans 7:19, “For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do–this I keep on doing.”

I feel like I have people fooled sometimes. One time I heard someone say, “If people knew what I really struggled with, they wouldn’t want anything to do with me.” I struggle with this as well.”

We received a card during this season which detailed all the ways this person appreciated members of my family, and he didn’t have a whole lot to say about me. Imagine how uncomfortable I was when I saw him on Sunday.

Also, on Sunday, I had another encounter with someone who said how much they appreciated me. My first thought was to tell him I knew how much they appreciated my husband because of all the work he does with the media team, the implication being there wasn’t anything to appreciate me for.

You might see a common theme with these statements and feelings, :-), but for you to fully understand where I’m coming from, I need to go back to this week of consideration. I’m looking out at a dark and cloudy morning. It’s raining, but the overhang to our entrance is sheltering me. This has not been the best year for us. My husband got sick and spent some time unemployed. We moved, and life got more expensive. These things could and have been discouraging. I have wondered at times if I’ve had the strength to go on.

But, then, I flip these discouraging things on their side and realize how much God has blessed us. We have a place to live. Some people don’t. We have food to eat. Some people don’t. Things have been paid for, sometimes anonymously, but they have been paid for. And, my husband has work again. Some people don’t.

I am blessed beyond measure even with the burdens I carry, and I am so very thankful. This twilight time has been a time of reflection so far as well as a time of consideration. It is showing me how I’ve been blessed as well as what I can do better in 2017.

God wants us to have time for reflection. It is when we are most open to hearing His voice and knowing what really matters to Him. He has helped me realize that I have let others define me for way too long. The only definition that matters to Him is that we are His children and that I am His daughter. And, whatever mistakes I make, I can always come back to Him, and He will receive me with the grace He bestows freely.

This is my prayer for all of you–that as we go into 2017, we are able to lay our burdens at His feet and accept the grace He gives to all of us.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

