To Those Who have Shown Jesus to Me

As I think back over this year, I think of all the highs and lows I’ve endured. I think about the goals I’ve achieved and what is still out there. I think about the good times and the bad times. But, mostly, I think about the people in my life. The people who have poured into me with no benefit coming to them. The people who have shown Jesus to me. I’ve tried my best to be like that as well, but sometimes, I think I’m lacking in that department. No, let’s be honest, I lack a lot in that department. I see my weaknesses more than my strengths.

But, this post is not about me. It’s about the people in my life. The ones who have been Jesus to me. When it gets to this time of year, I think of ways I can thank them. I think of possible things I can buy, possible things I can do for these people, and all of it comes up lacking. There’s nothing I can do that would be enough for what these people have done for me. Then, I get it. What these people have done for me is the same as what Jesus has done for us, He died on the cross for us and for our sins. There is no possible way we can pay Him back. Oh, we try to. We follow every rule in the Bible religiously. We even follow some rules that aren’t in the Bible just to say we’re following rules. It doesn’t work that way. God wants us to love people with no expectation of getting anything back. That is the grace He give us, and that is what He expects us to show to others–to show Jesus to all we meet.

So, this is what I would like to say to all who have shown Jesus to me this year. From Philippians 1:3-6: “I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” I wish you all the best as 2016 ends and wish you many blessings in 2017!

4 thoughts on “To Those Who have Shown Jesus to Me”

  1. I agree that this was an excellent reminder! Good people are out there! More and more I find people are so busy. We must all take more time to be the better part of someone’s day.

Leave a Reply

