The End…of This Blog Series (Beyond Our Walls)

Written earlier this morning.

Today is the 40th day of my church’s 40 Days of Prayer. We will go to church this morning and make our pledge to the capital campaign. I will think about what I’ve learned over these last 40 days about myself and my faith. When we were given these devotions, we were encouraged to share our thoughts on social media which is when I came up with the idea for this series. It’s been a quiet statement of faith for me. Before I started, I had trouble thinking of writing topics and wondered if anyone was interested in what I wrote. Mid-way through, I realized God cared about what I wrote and started writing them like He was the only one reading. If anyone else read them, it was a bonus.

I think that’s similar to what today’s devotion topic is (Are you Surviving or Thriving?) For a long time, I’ve just been surviving and covering up the wounds from my past. God knew I couldn’t go any further unless I dealt with those wounds so that’s what this time of prayer and reflection has been for me. I don’t want to just survive. I want to thrive in everything I do–thrive in my teaching, thrive in my writing, thrive with my family, thrive with my church family, and thrive with sharing Jesus’ love to those around me.

The way to thriving is through these verses from Scripture. Matthew 22:37 and 39 say, “Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”

If I follow Jesus’ words, there’s no way I can not thrive. His love filling me, in every part of me, always spills out to those around me. That is how we thrive as Christians–with love. Love for our Lord and Savior, love for our neighbors, and love for ourselves. He gave us the formula to thrive, and if we keep these verses in mind and the order in which they’re stated, (This is important. We need to love him first and others second before we love ourselves.), I believe we can thrive.  At least, that’s my plan going forward. 🙂

Yes, you will still hear from me as there are many, many topics related to my faith I haven’t even addressed. I’m thankful for those of you who have read any of the posts of this series and very thankful for my Lord and Savior who stays with me as I heal from my wounds and who gives us all the formula to thrive as His disciples!

God’s blessings to all of you today!

One thought on “The End…of This Blog Series (Beyond Our Walls)”

  1. Thanks for faithfully sharing your thoughts over the past 40 days. I’ve appreciated your reflections and have been blessed, challenged, and encouraged by each of them. I look forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

