It’s All a Choice (Beyond Our Walls)

When I get up in the morning, there are certain things I do to get started with my day. One of those things, as I’m sure it is for many of you, is to check my email. So, a little while ago, I did check my email and found out there’s going to be a writing workshop in my city. What! I read all the details and got even more excited. While I live in one of the larger cities of a Southeastern state in the United States, it’s not like Atlanta or New York or Chicago or Los Angeles for that  matter. Quality writing instruction was coming to my city. I hastily texted my husband and told him about it. We started going through the logistics over text. Was that the weekend our teenage son would be going to a youth conference? Did I want this workshop for my birthday? Could I go ahead and take advantage of the early bird pricing? Would my 17-year old son be okay handling his schooling for the day? (We homeschool.) It was all…general life stuff.

As we texted and I read my Bible (Yes, I multi-task.), I heard a quiet voice in my head. ‘Have you asked me?’ I had to hear the voice one more time before it got my attention. It was God, using that gentle, fatherly voice He had used many times before. I stopped what I was doing with a pang of guilt. No, I had not asked God. I had just assumed it was okay because the workshop sounded so cool, it was in my city, and it was something that would help me improve my writing ability. But, I hadn’t prayed. I corrected my mistake in that moment. Prayed to God that if the writing workshop was in His will for me that the logistics would work out and the financing as well.

God has had a way of working out writing topics for me this month that relate to the devotions from my church. Today’s topic is Choosing God’s Way which I did not do with this workshop until He reminded me. Isn’t that what we all do? We move forward like a Mack truck with what we think God wants for us until He gives us a gentle reminder to actually ask Him. And if we get stubborn, as I do a lot, He might create obstacles until we do listen. I’m glad I listened as soon as I did.

The author of the devotion asks these questions. Do we choose God’s way or our way? I’m ashamed to say I choose my way much more than I should. She also references two Bible verses about this topic I need to memorize. Proverbs 16:3 says, “Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.” Sounds like God needs to be in all my plans. 🙂

The other verse is Proverbs 16:9. “In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.”

When we give our lives to God, He wants to be in every part of them, not just in certain parts. He wants us to open our hearts to Him so He can work through us. He wants to be in my writing as much as He is in any volunteer work I do at church or any relationships I have through church.

We become more sensitive to His Spirit and what He wants for us through Bible study and prayer which helps us to get more adept at choosing His way. So grateful that God is always patient with me as I seek His face!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

Leave a Reply

