More than Enough (Beyond Our Walls)

After eating a big meal and spending time with our families yesterday, many of us have gone out today, on Black Friday, to begin Christmas shopping. It has become an annual tradition to see how much money we can spend on Christmas presents. As we have all seen on television, sometimes it even gets to a point where people are fighting over bargain priced merchandise. Due to an aversion to being in crowds, I’ve only participated in Black Friday once, but I’ve still tried to have the big pile of presents under the tree. It didn’t seem like Christmas if there wasn’t one. Yes, I celebrated Jesus’ birth. Yes, I read the Advent story to my kids. But I still tried to have the big pile of presents under my tree.

My thinking about this has changed mainly because of the subject of today’s devotion (Remaining in Him). Life has been tough for the last few years. Illness, hospital stays, unemployment, and the financial concerns that go with it have taken their toll. I had to make a choice. Was I going to go all in with this Savior of mine and experience the calmness and peace that went with my choice?

Reading the verses referenced in today’s devotion helped me make my choice. John 15:4-5 says, “Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

It was the best example I could have read. Without Jesus, I can do nothing. He strengthens me when I am tired and weak. He pushes me when I feel inadequate. He sustains me with His Holy Spirit. He is more than enough.

The thoughts of this world can be pushed back with that one sentence. I don’t need a pile of presents under the Christmas tree. Jesus is more than enough. I don’t need a huge house to live in. Jesus is more than enough. I don’t need designer clothes to wear. Jesus is more than enough. I don’t need to travel to exotic destinations. Jesus is more than enough.

I could go on, but I think you get the point. Jesus is more than enough for me, and I pray He will be more than enough for you during this Christmas season.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “More than Enough (Beyond Our Walls)”

  1. Thanks, Alisa, for this, and all the other posts, during our 40 Days of Prayer. Though I haven’t always left a reply, I’ve been blessed by them. I especially appreciated this post regarding the real meaning of Christmas. As the consumerists frenzy begins, thanks for reminding us that the power and beauty of Christmas is found, not in presents under the tree, but in God’s presence experienced in and through each other.

Leave a Reply

