Giving it All to God (Beyond Our Walls)

On this Thanksgiving Day in the United States, I am filled with thankfulness at all that God has blessed me with. I am thankful for my family, for my church family, for my friends all over the world, for this ability to write words God has given me, and especially thankful for my Lord and Savior who carries my burdens when I will let Him.

That is what today’s devotion is about (Peace from Letting Go).  I’m not good at this. I feel like there are things I can go better than God can, and I hold onto them until it gets to be too much.

God doesn’t want that for me as stated in two of my favorite verses from Ephesians. These verses, in fact, are the same verses my church is using for its capital campaign. Ephesians 3:20-21 says, “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations,  forever and ever! Amen.”

His way is the best way, and He wants me to release my burdens into His hands–through prayer, through writing, and through speaking–whatever works best. The point is to release them and not hold onto them.

I’ve been able to release a big one on this quiet Thanksgiving morning. One where I had been comparing myself to other Christians in how I gave to God’s work instead of leaving my giving where it needed to be–between me and God. The sense of peace is overwhelming. I had always been taught to compare myself to other Christians in how I gave, and when I couldn’t give the thousands of dollars they could, I felt inadequate as a Christian. No more! I’m just as adequate as the Christian who gives thousands of dollars, and God loves me just as much! Very thankful for this truth today!

As I finish this post, I want to quote the prayer the author wrote in her devotion. I believe it reflects what God wants us to do as we live out our faith here in this world.

“Dear Lord, Help us to know that peace that comes with letting go of our anxiety. Give us strength and guide our paths in good times and bad. Use us to lift each other up and be a blessing to others who are struggling. Thank you for your unchanging and faithful love. In Jesus’ Name, Amen!”

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

