Fearfully and Wonderfully Made (Beyond Our Walls)

Psalm 139 is my favorite psalm. When I wonder if God has a point and a purpose to my life, I go back to this psalm, and it points me in the right direction. This is why I was glad to see a verse from this psalm in today’s devotion. (Made for His Purpose)

Verses 13-17 say, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body, all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them!”

There are many verses in Scripture that speak of God’s love, but I believe this passage does a good job of demonstrating our worth to God. He knew me before I was born. He knew everything that would happen to me, and He still considered me worth enough to send His Son to die for me. This is amazing news for all of us. No matter what we’ve done, He still considers us worth enough to send Jesus to die on the cross for us.

He doesn’t want us to be the same as the people around us even though we might wish we were. The comparison game that we humans like to play is anathema to Him. He wants us to be content with who we are because that’s how He made us, and that’s how He loves us.

God has a job for each of us too. A job that only we can do. 1 Corinthians 12:27-31 says, “Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it. And God has placed in the church first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then miracles, then gifts of healing, of helping, of guidance, and of different kinds of tongues. Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles? Do all have gifts of healing? Do all speak in tongues? Do all interpret? Now eagerly desire the greater gifts. And yet I will show you the most excellent way.”

I used to look at the final verses of this passage and think that certain gifts were better than others just like other Christians considered themselves better than  me. I don’t think that anymore though. The greater gifts are the gifts that God has given to only me. He doesn’t want me to envy others or think I’m better than anyone else. His way is the best way, and His gifts are the best possible gifts for me to have.

My hope is that all of us in the church can realize this and work together for God’s glory and not be at odds with one another to accomplish the work that needs to be done for God’s kingdom.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

