Never Alone (Beyond Our Walls)

I had the privilege of spending several hours yesterday and some time this morning in prayer for my church and the prayer requests that have been collected over the last several weeks. It was a privilege as well as humbling. People trusted those of us who prayed with their hearts and their hurts. God met me there while I was praying for the requests and reminded me of some truths which were also reflected in today’s devotion (Inviting God into Every Day).

We are not alone. Not ever. God is with us even when other Christians reject us. There are so many Scriptures that illustrate this I could never hope to quote them all, but I do want to quote the Scripture that was shared with the devotion.

Psalm 139:7-10 says, “Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.”

As I spoke of last week, I have wounds from my past, many of which relate to money and my worth as a person. God has spoken into each of these wounds and has worked on healing my heart. He has worked on my capacity to forgive, and I’m finally getting to a point where I can. Each time I have invited God into my heart and into my day, my heart has been opened a little more, and God has come into those secret places that I don’t share with anyone.

The opening of those secret places can hurt, but this is where my writing ability comes into play. I can be transparent and honest when I write even when I can’t share my thoughts with anyone else.

This quote from Natalie Goldberg sums up why I’ve chosen to write in this blog as I have for the last few weeks. “Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open.”

God wants me to use my words to go into the secret places. By using them, I can show others they’re not alone even if they think they are.  If we, as other Christians, pretend we have no hurts, how will those who don’t know Christ know the Savior who carries all of our hurts if we will only let Him?

Beyond being a homeschool mom, writer, and daughter of God, I am also a sci-fi geek, and I think it only appropriate to end with this quote from the television show Firefly because I think it reflects what Jesus does for us. “When you can’t run, you crawl, and when you can’t crawl, you find someone to carry you.”

So thankful that God carries me even with all my wounds! Praying that all of us would be the hands and feet of Jesus this week!

God’s blessings on all of you!

Leave a Reply

