Taking Action (Beyond Our Walls)

Since I’ve been the mother of teenagers, I have done my best to listen to what they and their friends say about the world. Sometimes it is not at all relevant, but, at other times, I’m like, wow, we really need to be listening to our young people. The devotion for today (Action vs. Apathy) was written by a young person and very relevant to our faith and to the world.

As she said, there have been times we have all been apathetic about our faith. I know I have. There are times when I’ve been scared and afraid to fail and therefore, haven’t done that thing God was pushing me to do. But, when I have….God has blessed me more than I could possibly imagine.

So, it should be easy, right? All of us are Christians should stand up and be willing to use our talents and our gifts for God. But, we don’t and I believe this is because there is confusion between using our gifts and being asked to give. (money) At least, I get confused. 🙂

Romans 12:6-8 says, “We have different gifts according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”

Giving is only mentioned as one of those gifts, but it seems to be the one mentioned most frequently in our churches. It is also thought of as the one gift which gives people a pass on the other gifts. They think if they give money to a church, they don’t need to do anything else. This is the furthest thing from the truth. We need to be willing to give and to share our gifts. We need to be willing to step out of our comfort zones if we’re going to reach people for Christ.

When people think about stepping out of their comfort zones, they usually think it’s going to involve doing some big or grand thing. This isn’t necessarily true, and I’ve had to come to that realization. In fact, I’m going to be stepping out of my comfort zone in a small way this weekend when I participate in a 24-hour prayer vigil. I’ve never done anything like this before, and I certainly haven’t helped to facilitate an hour of a prayer vigil. But, as I thought about how I could help with the capital campaign, I realized praying was the one thing I could do, and it was an action I could take to ask God to spur other people to action at my church.

I am thankful for all the gifts God has given me, and I pray I use them to glorify His name wherever I go. I pray that same prayer for all of you.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

