Trusting God’s Power (Beyond Our Walls)

As I’ve written these posts, it’s been tricky to think of titles that are related to the devotion from my church, but aren’t the exact same title. My intention has not been to repeat what the author has had to say, but to offer my own take on it which is why giving  my post a title today was difficult.

First, the title of today’s devotion was What God Can Accomplish. It’s a good title and a good devotion speaking of what God can accomplish in our lives if we trust Him and His power. The first title I thought of was The Accomplishments of God, but I thought that implied speaking of what God had accomplished in Scripture and not relating it to my own faith which wasn’t my intention. Then, it came to me. We need to trust Him and His power in our lives if we want to live for Him. So, the title of Trusting God’s Power was born. 🙂

I wonder if we trust God’s power like we should. I wonder if we really believe He can accomplish great things in our lives. I know I don’t all of the time.

That’s why I read the Scripture the author included with new appreciation after reading his words. I won’t quote the entirety of either Isaiah 6 or Joshua 1, but they do an excellent job of showing God’s power. Here are just a few verses to show my point.

Isaiah 6:5-7 says, “‘Woe to me!’ I cried. ‘I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.’ Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, ‘See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.'”

Isaiah had the privilege of seeing God’s power. He knew he was inadequate, but God healed him anyway. Then, God prepared him for the task He had for him.

It was the same for Joshua after Moses died. God prepared him to lead the Israelites into the land He had promised them after he had seen many instances of His power. I was particularly struck by Joshua 1:9.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

I’m sure Joshua and Isaiah and other men and women of the Bible were afraid, but they moved forward anyway–in the Lord’s power. Last week, I spoke of some things I was not sure I could do. I didn’t feel qualified, and fear was also involved. They were small things, but they were things God had asked me to do. I was able to do both of them this past weekend. I give all the glory to God because I know I couldn’t have done them by myself.

Praying that we will all see God’s power in our lives this week!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

