The Great Commission (Beyond Our Walls)

Written today (11/10/16).

In four more days, my church will be at the midpoint of its 40 Days of Prayer. I have been given a lot to think about over the last 20 days. Not only about my faith, but about the condition of my heart. The topics of the devotions and sermons have cut things out of my heart and my past that I’ve had to deal with. Not all of them have been pleasant. I’ve had to examine my heart and mind to determine what my faith means to me and will continue to examine my heart and mind as God brings me through this process.

Today’s devotion though (Our New Mission) boils the Christian faith down to its very basics. I’m sure all of us have heard the Great Commission which is found in Matthew 28:19-20.

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

These verses have intimidated me in the past. They reminded me of preachers or evangelists who would yell from the pulpit or on the street about God and how people should accept Him as their Savior or they would be going to hell. For someone who is an introvert, the gift of evangelism seemed to be far away or maybe even non-existent. I comforted myself with the fact that God seemed to have given me other gifts.

I have a better understanding of how these verses are supposed to work now. They represent the relationship all of us have with God. God wants us to want a relationship with him and not to be intimidated into it. He wants us to have relationships with other people too, and by those relationships, bring them to knowledge of who He is and what He represents. In the long run, love works better than intimidation anyway and represents the best kind of evangelism.

So glad to have come to a better understanding of my faith and of the Great Commission!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

