Our Best, What’s That? (Beyond Our Walls)

Written yesterday (11/9/16), but published today (11/10/16)

Many of us have read the story in Mark 14 of how a woman came to where Jesus was in Bethany and poured a jar of very expensive perfume on His head. The others there thought she was crazy. They said she should have sold the perfume and given the money to the poor. But Jesus said it was beautiful–that she had prepared His body for burial. A wonderful, extravagant gift.

Today’s devotion from my church is about giving your best. (Giving Your Best) It talks about the Scripture I referenced above and talks about how people may think we’re crazy when we trust God, when we give things away with no expectation of return. We might not be able to give as much as someone else. (I know I wouldn’t be able to give something that was worth a whole year’s wages.) But, when God asks for our best, He’s not looking at the man or woman next to us. He’s looking at us and what we’re giving in time and in money. He’s looking at our hearts too.

He’s been looking at my heart a lot lately. Between my feelings of not being qualified and the fears I have of just stepping out, I haven’t done a very good job of giving God my best. I’m working on changing that. I think my biggest problem is worrying about what other people think of me, even other Christians. This should be the least of my worries. While we are called to love other people in Jesus’ name and live in community with other believers, the only one’s thoughts we should be concerned about are the thoughts of our Lord and Savior.

In the last few days, I’ve come to a better understanding of what this means despite some confusing language in Scripture. God wants us to love Him the most and consider what He wants the most. Through that, He gives us the love He wants us to share with the world around us and gives us the courage to give Him our best.

May we all give Him our best today!

God’s blessings on all of you!

One thought on “Our Best, What’s That? (Beyond Our Walls)”

Leave a Reply

