God is Sovereign, Period! (Beyond Our Walls)

I woke up this morning with the knowledge that today is Election Day in the United States and that I would need to make a decision about how I would cast my ballot.

I got up, went to work out, and then walked down to the lake close to our apartment. God displayed His majesty for me there through the sky, the sunrise, the water, and the cool breeze. I couldn’t help but break out into song–Amazing Grace and It Is Well With My Soul. (Don’t worry. I wasn’t too obnoxious. 🙂 )

Be patient. There is a point to this. I left the lake confident that my God is Sovereign no matter what happens today, no matter who becomes president. I’m not sure other Christians are confident of this though. I scrolled through my Facebook feed while eating breakfast, and I saw a number of posts stating God’s sovereignty in various ways, and then saying, ‘Vote Trump or Clinton or Johnson.’ And I had to say to myself, ‘Really, you equate God’s sovereignty with whoever is president.’ Not in my book. God is Sovereign, Period! I didn’t comment though because I have made it a point not to comment on political posts during this election season.

Now, the next question might be, ‘Why have I chosen to share this election story and how does it relate to the devotions from my church I have been expounding upon for the last several days?’ They are related, I promise. The title of today’s devotion is Lay Your Burdens at the Cross. I think all of us struggle with this, but it is something Jesus commands us to do.

Matthew 11:28-30 says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Do we truly believe this, Christians? Do we? I’m saying this to myself as well. Whoever is elected in our nation, our states, or our cities can’t fix things we perceive as wrong no matter how much we would like them to. They can’t fix our hearts, and they can’t fix the worries and fears that fill our hearts. Only God can do that, and it starts by reading the verses above and truly acting on those verses by leaving our burdens at the cross and not picking them back up. This is how we change our world, Christians, because, by this, we can go out into the world with our heart full of God’s love to share with those who need it.

Now, I want to make one thing clear. I’m not saying to not vote. I believe we should pray about our choice and follow God’s leading as we vote. After we are done though, we need to remember to show God’s love to those who are different from us and those who think differently from us and to act like we truly believe God is Sovereign, Period!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

