Joy in Trials (Beyond Our Walls)

I was reminded of another event in our lives earlier that occurred on this day six years ago. My husband had to have surgery. The particulars aren’t important. How I felt and what I was dealing with at the time is. When I was in that waiting room six years ago, I had a feeling that things were about to change though I did not know how much, and I felt a reassurance that everything would be ok through all the changes.

Is this joy in trials like it talks about in James 1:2-4? I think it was though I wasn’t in tune with my Father like I am now. Here are the quoted verses. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

This is right in tune with this morning’s devotion entitled Testing of Our Faith. The author shared her family’s story, and not having known her through most of the testing of her faith, I was encouraged by the way she expressed joy even through pain. I thought to myself there was no way I could express that kind of joy. No way I was mature enough in my faith.

God showed me I was wrong though. Going back to those moments six years ago, I expressed joy through the gifts He had given me. While I was waiting, I pulled out my notebook and worked on my novel. This was my second year of participating in something called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), and I was determined to have 50,000 words finished by the end of the month even through my husband’s surgery, even through homeschooling my boys, even through all of it.

As I wrote words down, as I could see my plot begin to come together, I felt a sense of peace come over me. Writing was my gift. I could write things down I couldn’t say to anyone else. I could write, and my life would become clearer to me. I could write, and my soul would be lightened. All things that were important at that stage of my life and things that are still important to me now, six years later.

In the years since that moment, I have been through more trials, but I have also learned to use the gift God has given me to get through those trials. I guess, in a way, my gift is what allows me to express joy.  I used to think expressing joy meant I was supposed to be happy all the time. And, when I wasn’t, it meant I was failing in my faith walk.

That isn’t it at all though. God has taught me that by writing about the good times AND the bad times, I am using what He has given me to express joy through my trials.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

Leave a Reply

