Listening to the Holy Spirit (Beyond Our Walls)

God gave us the Holy Spirit to guide all of us believers in our lives. Jesus speaks specifically of this in Acts 1:4 which says, “On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: ‘Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about. For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.'”

I have heard the Holy Spirit is the least understood of the Trinity, and in my case, I would have to say this is true because it has only been in recent years that I have started to understand the Holy Spirit’s role in my faith walk. He is my counselor and my guide. He gives me the discernment I ask for when I pray and spend time with God. He is the one who gives me a push when I’m in a situation I don’t need to be in. He is the one who, as the devotion from my church today says, helps me to “pick my battles wisely.”

Recently, someone I know was in a battle he didn’t need to be in. He kept feeling like the place he was in wasn’t a good place and looking back, I can see where he was getting a push from the Holy Spirit to do something about it.  But, he didn’t because the messages he received from society said that being proactive about the situation wasn’t a good idea.

It got to a point where he was pushed out of the bad situation and forced to trust in what God was going to do next in his life. Maybe ‘forced’ isn’t the right word. I have found in my life that I do a better job of trusting in and holding on to my Lord and Savior when I don’t have anything else to hold on to. I believe it was the same for this other person.

God wants us to let go and let Him work in our lives, and He’s given us the Holy Spirit to help us as we live in this world. To help us “pick our battles wisely” and “not be a donkey”. (something else from today’s devotion) He has given us many blessings, some of which we don’t recognize in our pursuit of the things of this world, but blessings still the same. My prayer for me and for all of us is that we would learn to recognize the nudge of the Holy Spirit which would lead us towards these blessings. They might not be the blessings we expect, but they will be the blessings God wants to give us which will be more than we could ask for or imagine.

Thank you, God, for giving me a helper, your Holy Spirit. Help me to truly let go and let you do your work in me as I live in this world. Help me to “pick my battles wisely”. In Jesus Name, Amen!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Listening to the Holy Spirit (Beyond Our Walls)”

Leave a Reply

