Contentment and Wisdom (Beyond Our Walls)

Today is the second day of the Forty Days of Prayer that my church is having, and I thought I would share my thoughts on the topics of the first two days of devotions.

The Bible verses which were shared in connection with both of these topics have one thing in common, and that is their lack of focus on self. First, Hebrews 13:5 says, “Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.'”

Then, James 1:5. “Now if any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives to all generously and without criticizing, and it will be given to him.”

Why is it that we can ask for contentment or for wisdom, but never seem to get any? Is it because we’re focused on self and not on others? Is it because we’re not reliant on the one who can give us both? Or are there times we feel like we’ve been abandoned because of situations going on in our lives?

Sometimes, for me, it can be the latter. Today, I am faced with a situation I am very concerned about. I don’t see a way I can do anything about it now except pray and ask others to pray. It involves someone I love being in pain, and it is a hard thing to watch not being able to do anything about it myself.

But, God can, and that is something I need to remember. We can ask for contentment and for wisdom in how to handle situations, and He doesn’t leave us alone. He wants to give these things to us abundantly like it says in James. We only need to ask. Here’s the hard thing though. Once we have asked for contentment or for wisdom, we need to leave our burden at His feet and take up the things He has given us which will help us handle our burden. This is hard for me because it means I’m renouncing being the one in control. Isn’t that the point though? I’m not supposed to be the one in control. My Lord and Savior is.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

