Living in the Moment, Trusting God for the Future

Living in this day and age requires that we be planners. No, maybe require is too strong of a word. I would have to say all the messages we receive push us to be planners. We plan our educations, plan our jobs, plan our marriages, plan for the births of our children, plan for how we’ll raise and educate our children,  plan for advancement in our job, plan for college, plan for an empty nest, and plan for retirement. I probably missed a thing or two, but I think you get the idea. Everything I named requires two things that are generally in short supply. Those things are money and time. We run around like chickens with their heads cut off to achieve everything we set our hearts on, but we miss out on so much when we don’t slow down.

We especially miss out on what God wants us to do with our lives. I’ve spent the last few months learning how to trust God. Living moment to moment, even second to second sometimes. I’ve learned I’m not in control even though I might like to think I am. I’ve learned how to appreciate a sunrise. I’ve learned how to trust God for the resources we need. I’ve learned how to appreciate laughter even when I might not feel like laughing.

I’ve not been perfect with this process. God is still working with me in living in the moment during a conversation. More often than not, I still am thinking of what I want to say when someone is talking with me. I’ve said things I regret like we all do. I’ve not been the person God wants me to be.

I believe this is where God has been teaching  me the most, and it’s been in preparation for something my church is about to begin in conjunction with its capital campaign. We’re calling it Forty Days of Prayer. We’re going to be praying together as a church family to be in God’s will for what He wants us to do in our community. Yes, there is a money component, but it’s deeper than that, or at least it’s going to be deeper for me. Reaching deeper into my mind, heart, and soul, and reaching past my brokenness to discover what God’s will is for me. I have always thought my brokenness impeded me from doing work for God’s kingdom. But, that’s not true, and I’m looking forward to planting that truth into the deepest recesses of my heart.

There’s one other reason I want to work on living in the moment and trusting God for the future. None of us are guaranteed a future. We don’t know when God is going to call us home. I recently heard a song that illustrates this truth and though it’s not specifically Christian, I wanted to share the lyrics as I end this post.  The song is called Blink, and it’s by a group named Revive.

“Teach me to number my days
And count every moment
Before it slips away
Take in all the colors
Before they fade to grey

I don’t want to miss
Even just a second
More of this

It happens in a blink, it happens in a flash
It happens in the time it took to look back
I try to hold on tight, but there’s no stopping time
What is it I’ve done with my life?

It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink

When it’s all said and done
No one remembers
How far we have run
The only thing that matters
Is how we have loved

I don’t want to miss
Even just a second
More of this

It happens in a blink, it happens in a flash
It happens in the time it took to look back
I try to hold on tight, but there’s no stopping time
What is it I’ve done with my life?

It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink

Slow down
Slow down
Before today becomes
Our yesterday

Slow down
Slow down
Before you turn around
And it’s too late

It happens in a blink, it happens in a flash
It happens in the time it took to look back
I try to hold on tight, but there’s no stopping time
What is it I’ve done with my life?

It happens in a blink, it happens in a flash
It happens in the time it took to look back
I try to hold on tight, but there’s no stopping time
What is it I’ve done with my life?

It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink
It happens in a blink”

May we all remember to live in the moment and trust God for the future!
God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

Leave a Reply

