The Breathings of My Heart

When I first get up in the morning, one of my favorite things to do is share the day’s Bible verse on Facebook and look at the different writing memes writing sites or various people have shared overnight. It gives me inspiration for the day to come. I found one of those writing memes last week and thought I would expound on the quote from William Wordsworth which was shared.

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”

The quote is brief, but it is filled with meaning. For the last few years, I don’t know what I would have done if I hadn’t been able to get some of my thoughts and feelings on paper. Every word, sentence, or paragraph I’ve seen on paper or on the screen has been a word, sentence, or paragraph that hadn’t stayed inside my heart to poison it. My writing, especially the writing about things that are personal, has helped me to stay healthy through the challenges of life. Every time I see a meme about the ability to write, I realize its message about writing holds truth.

Writing is like breathing for me. Putting words, thoughts, and ideas together helps me to deal with my past, my present, and my future. It helps me to get down to the heart of the matter–away from the fluff, away from the shields and towards the thing that is influencing me at the moment. It is a God-given gift I wish I had used more fully earlier in my life. But, I know I have it now and will continue to use it, nurture it, and refine it so I can share it with the world. In other words, I will let people see the “breathings of my heart”.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

