Honesty

Last week, I was asked if I would be willing to write a devotion for our church’s upcoming capital campaign. Since I write and am always looking for ways to practice and improve my craft, I said yes. I started thinking about my topic yesterday, and I realized there were a few different ways I could approach it one being where I leave my heart and my own personal observations out of it and the other making sure they were included. In other words, being honest with the readers of this devotion.

I had an inner debate about this for several hours. Capital campaigns involve the raising of money, and I wasn’t sure if what I had to say from my heart would be in keeping with what was wanted. Right now, my husband and I don’t have anything to contribute to a capital campaign. We are struggling to  keep our heads above water, and it is hard to not let shame and fear enter our thinking, to not think we don’t have anything to contribute.

It came to me last night though in waves of words. I started thinking about all of the words I had heard from people at my church over the last few weeks. From the person who said, “If people knew what I truly struggled with, they wouldn’t want me anywhere near them.” to the person who wrote words of encouragement on a card to me and my family to the people who have written me words of encouragement in texts. And finally from my Lord and Savior, “Daughter, I have chosen you to be my voice for what is going on in this world. They will not know if you are not honest.”

So, I wrote the words. I put my heart and soul into them, and I pray they reach the people they are supposed to reach.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

