Eyes of Mercy

During this time of waiting, God has used many things to encourage me. Some of the things that have been the most helpful are songs about Him. I became acquainted with another song this past weekend which has gotten into my heart. The song is “Mended” by Matthew West, and what I’m going to do is take a phrase from that song and talk about how God has used it to encourage me.

The phrase, if you haven’t guessed it by now, is “eyes of mercy.” God looks at all of us with eyes of mercy no matter what we have done or what is going on  in our lives. Everything could be going great, or we could be having the worst day ever, and He would still look at us with eyes of mercy. We could be doing everything He asks of us in Scripture, or we could have lost our strength to resist temptation, and He would still look at us with eyes of mercy. He loves us all enough to have sent His Son to die on a cross for us so why would He not look on us with eyes of mercy.

I listened to this part of “Mended”, and it bolstered my heart.

“I see my child, my beloved
The new creation you’re becoming
You see the scars from when you fell
But I see the stories they will tell

You see worthless, I see priceless
You see pain, but I see a purpose
You see unworthy, undeserving
But I see you through eyes of mercy”

Sometimes, I don’t feel worthy of the love God has spilled out on me. I don’t feel like I deserve it because of the bad things I’ve done, or because I haven’t contributed to God’s kingdom in the way I think I should. (in everything, not just money)

Then, I listen to something like this, and I realize it is one of the main things God wants me to do. To look on others with the same eyes of mercy that He does with me. To show His love to someone else when I feel like I’m the lowest of the low. To walk with others when they hurt, and to let others walk with me when I hurt. In other words, to be honestly present in other people’s lives. The only way I can do this is to have God in my life. I can’t do it by myself, and I won’t do it perfectly until I am with Him. God wants me to start now though–to look at others with eyes of mercy as He looks with eyes of mercy on me.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

Leave a Reply

