An Attitude of Thanksgiving brings Trust and Peace

I started something on Facebook yesterday in response to events last week that have affected my family. We’re in a position now that there is not an obvious avenue of provision. Of course, we all know or we should know that God is our ultimate provider. He just chooses instruments on this world through which He delivers it. As of last week, the instrument that was providing for my family is no longer there, and it would be easy to let worry and depression slip in. In fact, I would be remiss if I didn’t admit that some of it has already slipped in. It’s natural for it to do so since we are human.

But, we are humans who have hope, and I, especially, have been wanting to make sure I reflect that hope to the ones around me so they would know what and who I stand for. Trying to do that though is tough when the avenue of provision is not obvious. So, back to what I started on Facebook. I was thinking about all of the things I’m thankful for and the attitude I wanted to adopt, and then something came to me. I need to talk about what I’m thankful for. I started yesterday, and the words flowed. In fact, it could be said that they overflowed. There was more for me to be thankful about then there was to be worried about. When I set my heart on that truth, trust and peace filled my heart. Now, that doesn’t mean things have changed. We still don’t have an obvious avenue of provision, but setting my mind and my heart on an attitude of thankfulness has helped my heart as we are living in the waiting.

A focus on Scriptures that talk about thankfulness has helped my heart as well. Colossians 4:2 says, “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”  Praying about our situation while concentrating on the things I am thankful for has been a great way to lock worry out of my heart.

I especially liked Hebrews 12:28. “Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe.” God’s kingdom cannot be shaken no matter what happens in this world. That is more than enough reason to be thankful though our circumstances look bleak.

Colossians 2:6-7 were also good verses on this topic. “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.”

And finally, I Thessalonians 5:16-18. “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

I cannot do any of these by myself. It is only because I have God in my heart that I have the strength to be thankful during this trial in our lives. Praying that we all will experience His joy, strength, and peace as we focus our lives in prayer and thanksgiving for what He has done for us!

God’s blessings on everyone today!

 

Leave a Reply

