New Beginnings

When I published my last post eleven days ago, I was eight days away from a big change in my family’s life. We were preparing to make a local move in our community. In our twenty-two years of marriage, we have moved several times, and the prevailing characteristic has been for the move to be to a different enough locale that it resulted in a totally new beginning for our family. We would go to different stores, have different sets of friends, and would have to adjust to different routines while missing what was old and familiar.

This move is different from all of that because we only moved a couple of miles down the road from where we were. All of the same stores and restaurants we like to frequent are still in the same places. Sure, we’ll probably go to some places more than we did before, and some places less, but essentially things will be the same. We’ll have to remember to turn in a different direction when we’re leaving Target or coming home from church, but it will still be the same place.

Even with everything pretty much staying the same, I’m calling it a new beginning. Why? Because it’s a chance to do things differently. It’s a chance not to fall into the same old patterns. It’s a chance to shine God’s light in a way I haven’t been able to before.

God offers each of us that new beginning every morning. It doesn’t just come when you accept Him into your heart. It doesn’t just come when you are baptized. It comes every day! And if I were to be honest, I would say I need that new beginning each day. Lamentations 3:22 says this, “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.'”

So, even with all the times I fail and all the times I’m not the person God wants me to be, He offers me a new beginning each and every day. May we all take that new beginning!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

