Be Still and Know

If you have any familiarity with Scripture, you will know that the above title of this post is a partial quote from a particular verse. Here is the full quote of Psalm 46:10. “He says, “Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

This verse is almost at the end of a psalm that begins with these verses. “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. (Verses 1-3)

All of these verses have been encouraging to me, but what I want to unpack today is verse 10. “Be still and know that I am God.” The first part, being still, is something that all of us have difficulty doing, me included. Nowadays, staying busy and connected to the noise of this world continuously is something that has become culturally acceptable. Don’t believe me. When is the last time you have taken a vacation without someone expecting you to take a phone call or answer an email for work? Or solve a problem that has come up? Or even come into the office from wherever you are? If you can answer all of that in the negative, I want to work for your employer. 😉

But, I digress. I have written many times of God wanting to have a relationship with us. I believe this is one of the verses that explains how we can have a relationship with Him. We need to be still so we can listen to what He has to say to us. Yes, we need to pray too which involves speaking out loud. (generally) But, after we pray, we need to be still. We need to study Scripture and listen for His still, small voice to have His guidance for our lives. This verse cements this concept for me because right after “be still” it says, “know that I am God.” So, if we are still, we can know Him. That seems like a fair bargain to me as this is something I want with everything I have in me.

What about the noise though? How can we shut it all off so we can have a chance to be still? For me, it has come in small steps. Making a commitment to have everything capable of making noise away from me during my prayer time. Speaking and then taking the time to listen. Having small blocks of time during the day when I am quiet. Asking God what He wants me to do about a particular situation and listening for His answer. Things like that. I won’t be perfect at this until I am with God, but it’s my hope that I will continue to know my Lord and Savior better by making the time to be still.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Be Still and Know”

  1. Good stuff Alisa! Sabbath is one of those principles of Scripture that, not only do we ignore and trample upon it, we are often rewarded for doing so. “Being busy” to the point of physical, mental, and spiritual exhaustion is the idol of our culture, and has an image erected in most North American churches. Thanks for the reminder to “be still”. Rather than mere inactivity it is an active protest against the god of this world!

Leave a Reply

