Enduring Hope

Every summer, my church chooses a theme for Wednesday nights, and all of the speakers relate their stories to this theme. I’ve learned a lot about my faith and about my brothers and sisters every summer since being at this church.  God does mean for us to learn from Scripture, but He also means for us to learn from each other.

So, this summer the theme is enduring hope, and I thought I would try, this morning, to speak to this topic. The first thing I did was to type the term into my You Version search engine to see if I could find some Scripture. I wasn’t optimistic about finding any kind of match because I had never seen these two words linked anywhere in Scripture. At least, I didn’t think I had.

God surprised me though. There were two verses that had both of those words written in them. The first was Romans 15:4.

“For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.”

The second was from I Thessalonians 1. Verse 3 says, “We remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.”

I don’t know if either of these verses was referenced when deciding on the theme, but I liked finding these nuggets from God’s Word which have encouraged me this morning. These verses have taught me a lesson I think God needed me to hear. Our hope is not fleeting! That is what enduring hope means to me. Through each storm, through each trial, through each tribulation, through each tear, God’s hope is always with us. Always. Sometimes we don’t act like it. Sometimes we don’t feel it or even believe it because we think it is fleeting. Life can overwhelm us, and we take our minds off where they need to be. But, the enduring hope of God is not fleeting and is not a fairy tale. It is something that lasts. May that knowledge be revealed to you as a deep certainty this morning!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Enduring Hope”

Leave a Reply

