A Time to Dance

The title of my post today might not be an expected title for a Christian blog, but bear with me. All will be made clear. This phrase actually appears in Scripture and is in the set of verses I’ll be talking about today in relation to what’s going on in my life.

First, the Scripture I’m quoting is from Ecclesiastes 3:1-8.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to fear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.”

These have always been favorite verses of mine. They talk about all the cycles of life and how we’re meant to do and to feel all of these things. We’re not meant to just act and behave one way though some Christians would have you think that is the case. It is not the case at all. At different points this spring, I have wept, laughed, scattered stones, gathered them, embraced, refrained from embracing, searched, given up, kept, thrown away, been silent, spoken, and loved. All have been a part of my life, and through all of them, God has been my anchor even when  I didn’t feel like He was there.

Last week, I posted a status on Facebook that is worth quoting here. These words helped me realize that my hope is returning and that this summer will be a time when I can dance, dance with the joy of the Lord in my heart no matter what else is going on. #timetodance

“This has been a rough spring, and I lost my hope for a little while. I forgot that God is bigger than my giants and that He is always there. Glad my hope is returning and glad summer is starting! ‪#‎hope‬ ‪#‎faith‬ ‪#‎love‬‪#‎Godisbiggerthanmygiants‬ ‪#‎Heisable‬

 

Leave a Reply

