Preparing for Easter

Preparing for Easter is different from preparing for Christmas. When I think about Christmas, I think about how Jesus was born in a manger in Bethlehem and I think about buying gifts and spending time with family and friends, all of which are causes for celebration. Yes, preparing for the celebration of His birth does involve a certain amount of reflection on what it all actually means, but it’s different for Easter.

Why is that? Is it because of what Easter actually involves? Is it because of Jesus’  sacrifice on the cross? I believe so. Easter represents the resurrection of my Lord and Savior, the coming back to life on Sunday after His death on Friday. We call this day Good Friday, but how can there be anything good about it. Jesus died for all of us, died for all of the sins we have committed or the sins we ever will commit. It is almost too much for me to wrap my head around. In those moments, He experienced all of our pain.

I wonder if I could do that. I wonder if I could die for someone I loved. I doubt anyone could truly answer that question until they were faced with the possibility of losing a loved one, but my first instinct at answering the question would be to say no. Why is that, you ask? Because all of us have a selfish nature that doesn’t want and doesn’t like to contemplate death.

It makes what Jesus did for us all the more amazing. He went to His death willingly. He walked with His cross willingly. I wonder if He knew He was going to be resurrected. I’m guessing He did because He was God in the flesh, but, still, He took on our pain willingly. My pain. And I’ve had more than my share in this life. He’s been there through all of it though even when I turned my back on Him. But, now, after five decades on this earth, I have a relationship with my Lord and Savior where I can talk to Him and be completely honest. He knows when I hurt, and He cares; more than anyone else on this earth, He cares. Why is that, you ask? Because Jesus is the only one who has ever died for me.

So, when I’m preparing my heart and my mind for Easter, I think these thoughts most of all. Jesus died for me, and today, if you don’t know Him as Lord and Savior, I would leave you with this. Jesus died for you too! All He asks is for you to believe in Him.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Easter”

  1. Thanks for being so open about your faith.We both share the same world view. Since I came to faith in Him it has been a journey of no regret.

Leave a Reply

