Giving Our Best so God Gets the Glory

I’m not so sure about this title, but it’s the only one I can think of at the moment so I’m going to let it stand. I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately. So many times, when we do well at something, we want to take all the glory and the credit, and we don’t want to give God any of it. It’s almost like we think we can handle all of it ourselves, and God is not necessary. But, then, when things go badly, we rush immediately to pray and cry out to God to heal or correct the bad thing and depend on Him for our strength and courage. God doesn’t want that. He wants us to talk to Him all of the time, not just during the bad times. The trick, I think, is to get the focus off of ourselves and get it to where it’s supposed to be…on God.

There is a time though when it’s tough to do that, and it’s when we are practicing something to become better at it. When we’re practicing a particular sport, a musical instrument, some kind of creative enterprise, or even just doing our best with schoolwork or our jobs, it’s hard not to think of the accolades we can get if we get good enough at whatever we’re practicing or in simpler terms, if we’re thinking about ourselves. What if we, who are Christians, changed our thinking about this? If, when we practiced something, we practiced it for God’s glory instead of our own. If, when we succeeded at something, we gave God the glory and didn’t take any for ourselves.

Examples of giving our best to God abound in Scripture. Some of these have to do with offerings or tithes, but others are more related to giving everything to God, in other words, our best. Malachi 3:10 is the best example of giving our best through offerings and tithes.

“Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.”

Colossians 3:17 talks about doing everything in Jesus’ name, what ever we do.

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it ALL (emphasis mine) in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

I think this last example proves my point well. God wants us to do our best at everything so He can get the glory. He wants to be seen through us so others can come to know Him, and if we are His, we should want that too. May we all do our best for His glory!

God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

4 thoughts on “Giving Our Best so God Gets the Glory”

  1. I also find that I’m able to give my best in the first place only by the Spirit’s power. Without God, all my works become meaningless. And so I have to give God the glory because I couldn’t do it on my own to begin with.

  2. God has given us His best. He deserves our best. If we give Him our best, we even get blessed the more. We cant ever outgive Him. can we?

Leave a Reply

