Sharing our Gifts for God’s Glory

For the last few weeks, I’ve been sharing about what we’ve been doing at my church to encourage people to share the gifts God has given them within the body. This all culminated in the event we had yesterday where each of the ministries had tables set up, the leaders were available to talk to people about their ministry and sign-up sheets were also available.  I was helping people at the table for my husband’s ministry, and from where I was, it looked like everything was going well. The leaders will be following up over the next few weeks, and I know everyone is hopeful this will translate to more people sharing their gifts for God’s glory in our church and in our community.

What I want to talk about today is my own journey. Over the last few weeks, I have felt a calling to do something, to share my own gifts within the body. I had actually started the planning for it and was starting to get excited when I had some people approach me and tell me I would be stepping on toes if I tried it. It derailed and discouraged me. You might ask what this gift is. It has to do with writing, of course. God has given me the gift of expressing myself. The gift of writing down my thoughts so I can understand what I’m thinking more clearly. And, because my writing makes my understanding clearer for myself, it helps other people to understand what I’m talking about better. Or at least, that’s what I’m told.  🙂

After our service yesterday, I felt a vague dissatisfaction which lasted for the rest of the afternoon up until this very moment, as a matter of fact. Things started to become clearer as I read my Scripture reading for the day earlier this morning. There was one particular verse that came right out at me. It was Luke 21:33.

“Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.”

This verse brightened my thinking and really encouraged me. Now, of course, Jesus’ words in general are encouraging, but how does this relate to my own thoughts of sharing the gift of my writing? It’s simple. God’s words will never pass way, like the Scripture says, and if He is wanting me to write, He has a plan and a purpose for it. I don’t want to be egotistical and say that my words will never pass away. Not my point at all! Writing is my gift though. It is the gift God wants me to share for His glory. He doesn’t want me to care about what others think or if I’m stepping on toes. He just wants me to write–for His honor and for His glory. For His honor and His glory alone!

Now, I have to overcome this fear I have — of upsetting Christian brothers and sisters, of stepping on toes, of not feeling worthy, of not having courage. I’ve done a lot of things over the past few years that have required courage, especially with my faith. I’m just having trouble stepping over this one hurdle. I think that’s the point though. God wants us to depend on Him and Him alone as we share our gifts within the body and within our communities and not worry about what anyone else thinks. Easier said than done, I know, at least it is with me.

May we all depend on God and God alone as we consider where He is leading us to share our gifts for Him!

Praying God’s blessings on all of you today!

Leave a Reply

