Being Comfortable Has No Place in Christianity

Two weeks ago, I wrote that my Monday morning blog topic this year would be related in some way to either what I heard or what I experienced in church the day before. As this is only the third Monday of the year, I don’t want to congratulate myself just yet, but I think I’ve made a good beginning in being consistent with posting in this blog.

My pastor’s sermon yesterday was the second part of what he spoke on two weeks ago. It was mainly about the qualities of leadership, and how, in the church, the word leadership should always be accompanied by the word servant.

In my first blog entry of 2016 which referenced the first part of this sermon, I touched on the issue of control, and how we, as believers, should be giving up control to our Lord and Savior and what He wants for our lives.

I want to go a little bit further than that today and talk about how being comfortable has no place in Christianity. In this day and age, especially in the Western world, we are all about being comfortable and having things be convenient for us. This trend, unfortunately, has slipped into churches where people won’t even consider serving in some capacity because they’ve never done it before or think they don’t have time for it. We sit in our seats expecting to be blessed and not ever thinking about the ways we can bless others. Now, of course, this is not the case all the time. I know many people who are Christians whose lives are a blessing to others. They think about others before they think about themselves and are generally the first people you see taking up the mantle in our churches and getting the work done that needs to be done.

But, that’s not the case for many of our church members, and I think the main reason for this is because we, in the West, have become too comfortable. Jesus didn’t mean for us to be comfortable. He expected those who believed in Him to be about His work. There are innumerable examples of this in Scripture. I will only post a few.

Jesus says this in Matthew 7:11. “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”

In Romans 12:6, Paul says this. “We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”

And, finally, in 1 Peter 4: 10. “Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”

I think the last verse says it all. We’re to be using our gifts in service to others and not just receiving blessings. God has given us these gifts and the capability and courage to use them. These gifts are not a condition to our salvation (That would be grace versus works, and grace wins every time.) They are an outgrowth of our salvation and should be something we want to do as we seek to live for our Lord and Savior. I’m going to be taking a big leap this year in using my gifts for His glory. There is always a chance I’ll fail, but the cost of not trying is too big, and the cost of remaining comfortable is not something I’m willing to endure anymore.

May we all use our gifts for His Glory!

God’s blessings on you all today!

Leave a Reply

