Prayer, A New Beginning for 2016, and a Recommitment

When I began this week of posts, I had two purposes for it. One was to think out loud about my faith and why I felt out-of-place and out-of sync with it. I had been struggling with my value and my worth and thinking that I wouldn’t be missed if I was gone while my husband would be missed. Part of the reason for this is that my husband runs the media team at our church, and I haven’t felt like I’ve had a niche there myself. It’s difficult for me to think that just being myself and not doing anything is important, that it’s important to God.

The other purpose for the week was that I wanted to see what kind of writing content I could put out and see if I could keep any consistency with it. This year has not been a year where I’ve been consistent for a number of reasons, and I want to do better, be better with my writing. Even though I’ve written in my journal and will continue to write in my journal, it’s not enough for me. I have words that need to come out, that I need to share with other people, but I have let fear overwhelm me.  That is one of the things in 2016 I plan to change, a New Year’s resolution so to speak.

So, how do I get from all of this to what the title of this post is? Well, prayer is how I talk to God, how I get my courage to keep going, and I’ve realized I don’t do enough of it, in public or in private. This is one big thing that is going to change with my faith. A re-committing of my life in 2016 to what I say is the most important thing to me. I don’t want anyone to ever think I am ashamed that Jesus is my Lord and Savior! I will pray; I will give thanks to God; I will worship Him; and it doesn’t matter to me who sees!

Romans 12:12 seems to be the most pertinent example to me of what I’m trying to say. “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, and faithful in prayer.”

There is also a song I have come to love that demonstrates this to me as well. It is the song  “Here’s My Heart” by Crowder. Take a look at the lyrics, and you’ll see what I mean.

“Here’s my heart, Lord [x3]
Speak what is true
I am found, I am Yours
I am loved, I’m made pure
I have life, I can breathe
I am healed, I am free
Here’s my heart, Lord [x3]
Speak what is true
I am found, I am Yours

I am loved, I’m made pure
I have life, I can breathe
I am healed, I am free

You are strong, You are sure
You are life, You endure
You are good, always true
You are light breaking through

Here’s my heart, Lord [x3]
Speak what is true

Here’s my life, Lord [x3]
Speak what is true [x3]

I am found, I am Yours
I am loved, I’m made pure
I have life, I can breathe
I am healed, I am free

You are strong, You are sure
You are life, You endure
You are good, always true
You are light breaking through

You are more than enough
You are here, You are love
You are hope, You are grace
You’re all I have, You’re everything

Here’s my heart, Lord [x3]
Speak what is true

Here’s my life, Lord [x3]
Speak what is true [x3]”

My prayer for 2016 is that all of us who believe will let these words permeate to the very souls of our beings. “Here’s my heart, Lord. Speak what is true. Here’s my life, Lord. Speak what is true.”
Happy New Year!
God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

Leave a Reply

