Grace

It’s been a little over a year since I started this blog, and while I covered the topic of grace in my first post, I thought it was time I revisited it. God has been pouring out His grace on me in the last few weeks. Pouring out His grace–even though I’ve doubted, even though I’ve struggled, even though I couldn’t feel His presence. He’s been working on my heart and spirit though as I indicated the other day with my post about prayer. I had an idea about how He could answer my prayer, and that is what I was praying for.

But, when He told me I needed to change the prayer and I did so, things started to happen. No, my husband hasn’t found a job yet, but the blessings and the grace He has poured out have continued to astound me.  God is growing characteristics in me that needed to be sharpened and  refined in the fire such as patience, humility, understanding of others, and a true acceptance of grace. Things that we need are coming to us more rapidly than I can even type, and I find myself wanting to share them with others. None of this is being done with perfection and will not result in perfection, but I am rejoicing anyway because I have the “peace that passes understanding.”

I am going to end with the words of an old hymn.

Grace Greater than Our Sin

  1. Marvelous grace of our loving Lord,
    Grace that exceeds our sin and our guilt!
    Yonder on Calvary’s mount outpoured,
    There where the blood of the Lamb was spilled.

    • Refrain:
      Grace, grace, God’s grace,
      Grace that will pardon and cleanse within;
      Grace, grace, God’s grace,
      Grace that is greater than all our sin!
  2. Sin and despair, like the sea waves cold,
    Threaten the soul with infinite loss;
    Grace that is greater, yes, grace untold,
    Points to the refuge, the mighty cross.
  3. Dark is the stain that we cannot hide;
    What can we do to wash it away?
    Look! There is flowing a crimson tide,
    Brighter than snow you may be today.
  4. Marvelous, infinite, matchless grace,
    Freely bestowed on all who believe!
    You that are longing to see His face,
    Will you this moment His grace receive?

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Grace”

  1. And really, another song that applies to your shift in perspective: Open the Eyes of My Heart, Lord.

    I notice that I don’t think that I’ve ever sung the second verse of Grace That Is Greater in my whole life, but what an awesome verse that is and how exactly the one that you needed right now!

Leave a Reply

