The Words of a Prayer

As I wrote in my journal earlier, God, sometimes, needs to make things very simple for me, and He has done so this morning. I was not specific in the posts I made last week as to why I was struggling. I plan to be specific this morning, and it’s related to the words of a prayer.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but praying is difficult for me sometimes. It’s hard to know what to say. I wonder if that’s why Romans 8:26 – 27 was included in Scripture.

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.”

I think it might have to do with weakness. It’s not easy showing weakness to others. That might be why we call the church office with our prayer requests as opposed to sharing them within the body. It might be why we share them online as opposed to getting together with Christian friends and praying. Or it might be because we just do not know what to say, and we are afraid to be emotional or to appear selfish.

God has called me to something different though which requires specificity and honesty. Right now, my husband is unemployed for the second time in a year. I want to be clear. I don’t say this for any other reason except because it’s a fact. He has also been our sole income since I homeschool our younger son. In the last week though, I have picked up a part-time tutoring job which I hope will start bringing in some income quickly. Many of you have, more than likely, been through the same thing and have had the same fears. Fears of being homeless, fears of not being able to pay your bills, fears of being hungry, fears of what people are saying, fears of appearing selfish, or fears of not being able to stand strong in your faith.

These are all fears I have dealt with in the last few weeks. And, those fears, I think, have colored how I’ve prayed. Praying for my husband to find a job. Praying for his health which is what started this mess. Just praying, for God to bless our family. When He didn’t, that’s when I started to struggle.

But, God, who knows my heart better than I ever could, showed me my thinking was backwards in what I was praying for. And, this morning, He gave me the words to a prayer. A prayer that is more of a “safety net” than any safety net our society offers. A prayer of just two sentences that reflects our whole situation and puts the focus back where it needs to be–on my Lord and Savior. So, that prayer will be the prayer I offer as we walk through this fire. A prayer I will pray by myself, and a prayer I will pray in front of others.

Dear God, help me to trust you for our provision and for our stability. And help me to love others in your name.

God’s blessings on you today!

Leave a Reply

