Being Brave

This has been a tumultuous summer for a number of reasons, and the list just keeps growing. I found out some more news yesterday that was…difficult to hear.

There have been many times over the years where I’ve had to carry our family for different reasons. Every one of those times has been difficult. And so, yesterday, when I got this news, I was overwhelmed.  Last night, when I was driving to Target, I was having a conversation with God. I said, “God, I don’t think I can be brave again. It’s been one thing after another, and when each thing has happened, thoughts of being abandoned enter my head. I’m not sure I can go on or be brave anymore.”

Well, God, being God, had this to say. “It is not you being brave, my daughter. It is me being brave for you. It is me giving you courage and giving you strength.” He reminded me of what Paul says in 2 Corinthians.

2 Corinthians 12:9 – 10

“But he (God) said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

2 Corinthians 4:8 – 9

“We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.”

After these verses came to mind, God also said something else. “This is why I have also given you a family, my daughter. A family that can be brave for you when you can’t. A family that loves you and won’t abandon you. Take heart, you are stronger than you think you are.”

I came back home from that conversation with peace and reassurance in my heart knowing my God is bigger and braver than whatever the world throws at me and that I don’t have to be brave at all as long as He is with me.

God’s blessings on you today!

 

 

Leave a Reply

