The End of the Prayer Project

When I say this is the end of the Prayer Project, I don’t mean this is the end of my praying. Not by a long shot! I just mean that this project of praying for every family in my church was finished yesterday morning when I prayed for the last set of names. It’s kind of surreal. During this time of being on my knees, I prayed for many families and for many people who I knew personally, and then I prayed for people who I didn’t know besides seeing their name on a list. But God does. God knows all of  us, and each of those people deserved to be prayed for.

I was thinking about where I needed to go next when I was writing in my journal earlier. We had a time of prayer last night at my church, and I realized something. God is leading me to be more intentional about prayer. I wrote last week about courage, and I think praying and courage are all wrapped up together.  I do understand that people are uncomfortable praying out loud. If I were to be honest, I would count myself in that group. But, God is wanting me to reach beyond my comfort zones in asking for prayer and in volunteering to pray. Praying is how we talk to God, and praying is how we understand how God wants us to share His love with the world around us. There are so many verses in Scripture about prayer. I would make this post impossibly long if I tried to share all of them so I will only quote two. The first is in the Old Testament from 2 Chronicles.

2 Chronicles 7:14

“if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

The second is from the book of Philippians in the New Testament.

Philippians 4:6

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

The second verse, in particular, is one I have to remember every single day, and I think God is pointing out to me that I do have to be intentional and consistent with my prayer time. I look forward to seeing where this focus will go in the future.

God’s blessings on all of you today!

 

 

Leave a Reply

