Living in the Waiting

We wait for so much in our lives. We wait to finish high school. We wait to finish college. We wait to get our first job. We wait to get married. We wait to have children.  Etc. Etc. Etc. You get the idea. I’m in one of those waiting periods right now, and it is hard. It is hard to wait and not have control over situations like I think I should. It’s even harder when things don’t happen as quickly as I think they should.  Even when I’m waiting in line at the store or waiting in a line of traffic, I’m impatient for things to happen quickly so I can go about my merry way.

What happened to being patient though? What happened to just living in the moment? I think some of the answers to those questions are societal.  Society, especially Western society, says we should always be rushing to the next thing. The next thing will give us complete satisfaction in our lives like nothing else ever has, and it will be the proverbial brass ring that will slow us down. It never does though. It never slows us down.

What can slow us down? I think we need to look at Scripture to answer that question. There are many verses about waiting, only a few of which I’m going to quote here.

Psalm 25:4-5

“Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me; for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.”

Psalm 46:1-3, 10

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble at its swelling. Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

Psalm 37:7

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.”

There are many more Scriptures about this, but I think these demonstrate the point well. We need to be willing to wait and to have patience while doing so. For those of who have given our hearts to Christ, this is paramount. If we truly have released control to God, we need to release control of EVERYTHING to Him. That doesn’t mean we don’t pray. It just means that once we’ve prayed, we give control of it to Him, and we don’t take it back. We live in the moments He gives us, and we don’t worry about the future. We see the beauty and the peace of living in the waiting. His beauty and His peace. I understand this in a way I’ve never understood it before because of everything I’ve written so far and because of what I learned in our Vacation Bible School last week. I will end with a quote from that study. “God has the power to provide! Hold on!”

God’s blessings on you today!!!

 

Leave a Reply

