Time

I’m sure you’ve noticed it’s been some time since you’ve heard from me. Four weeks to be exact. Not apologizing for it. Just stating the facts. A lot has happened in the last few weeks though. Things that I’ve needed to process. Things that have just kept me busy. But, before I go into that, let me state the verses from Ecclesiastes that have prompted this post.  They are verses about, as you probably have already surmised, time.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 – 8

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.”

I have become fully aware of the passage of time during the last few weeks because of a momentous event that has happened in my own family. My older son graduated from high school ten days ago. When we chose to homeschool nine years ago, I knew we were making a choice to be different. Because of this choice, I thought my husband and I would not be able to experience some of the typical passages of time such as graduation. Boy, was I wrong! So very wrong!

We moved to Alabama almost four years ago, and the laws in this state required us to have a cover school. Upon moving here, we registered with Everest Academy. When it came time to let the administrator know that our older son would be graduating, we found out there would be a graduation ceremony and that he would be able to participate if he wished. We gave him the choice, and he said he wanted to. I am so glad he did because I needed to experience this typical ritual with him and I needed to see something else in action.

You might ask what that something else is. I needed to see that Alabama had truly become home and that we had a community around us. At the beginning of May, we sent our graduation invitations — some to our family and friends out-of-state and the rest to our local family. I knew it was unlikely that our out-of-state family and friends would be able to come for various reasons some having to do with illness, some having to do with blessed events in their own lives, and some having to do with their distance from where we live. Our son was remembered by some of these people though, and I’m so appreciative he was.

Back to the thing I needed to see though. When we sent the invitations, we all picked people in this area who had become family to us. These people have had a marked impact on all of our lives over the last four years, and we wanted them to witness our son’s achievement.  Because it was a homeschool graduation and we weren’t limited on tickets or space, we invited a lot of people. During this time of year, people have a lot going on, and I knew some wouldn’t be able to come which would have been fine.

Here, though, in this picture are the people who came to the ceremony, and here, in the second picture, are the people who came to dinner afterwards.

graduation2015

graduation20152

 

They came to witness this passage of time with our son. I also  now know, with certainty, that I have a family here in Birmingham — a family by choice; a family who is loved because Christ first loved us.

God’s blessings on you all today!

Leave a Reply

