An Update on the Prayer Project

When I first thought of doing this, I had just finished reading and studying Philippians 3. It came out of a desire to know my Lord and Savior well and to go about doing His business no matter what was happening in my own life. Consistent and specific prayer for the people around me was what He wanted me to do.

I’m twenty-one days into this now and thought I would give an update. I’ve already said that the Lord had called me to consistent and specific prayer, but I didn’t outline any other details. I want to do that now so I have a record of what I’m doing. This all came about because I felt awkward about asking  people to pray for me especially for things that were not very serious except to me. When I was thinking and praying about this during my devotion time, God brought to mind that there were probably many others who felt the same way, and then I felt a strong pull to start this project. What I did was take my church’s directory and divide all of the people into groups of five. And I’ve taken time each day to pray for the people on my list. Now, you’re probably thinking, ‘She doesn’t know everyone in her church that well.’ And you would be right, I don’t know everyone at my church. But, we, as human beings, tend to have things in common. And so, for the people I don’t know well, I can still pray for them. I can ask God to bless their spouses, their families, their work, the influence they have on the community around them, that kind of thing. Of course, when I’ve prayed for the people I know better, I can bring specificity to my prayers, but that part is not the point. Everyone deserves to be prayed for, even for the little things. So, that’s what I’ve done. Prayed for my faith community, my faith family, specifically by name.

Now, to the specific impact this has had on me. Satan has tried to stop me. This past month has been a very hard one for me and my family. It has been difficult to maintain focus, but I’ve done so because I was committed to going through the entire directory and praying for each of the people I’ve come to love so much by name.

So, anyway, back to this project’s impact on my own prayer life. I’ve become more sensitized to the conversations around me at church. When people have mentioned certain things, I have made a mental note to put them on my prayer list. God has brought the request to mind each time I’ve prayed, and I have prayed for those requests as well as the people on my list. Calmness and peace are seeping into my life, sometimes through tears, but they are still there. This is not my calmness or peace. I don’t claim it is mine by any stretch of the imagination. Purely and simply, it is God’s, and I am grateful He is always there, in bad times and in good. I haven’t decided what kind of focus my prayer time will have once I am finished, but I know God will give me what I need when I need it.

God’s blessings on you today!

4 thoughts on “An Update on the Prayer Project”

  1. I am not a Christian, but I always Love to see someone show dedication and devotion to ones faith. Wanting to best for others, even when you aren’t at your best, is a sign of character. Keep marching forward and don’t like back.

  2. Thanks for taking seriously the call to “pray for one another.” Knowing that you are systematically praying for every family encourages me. Thanks for this faithful commitment to prayer!

Leave a Reply

