The Beginning of Building a Foundation of Faith

Ever since I came back to Christ a few years ago, I’ve regretted the time wasted. I’ve regretted not having a history of family faith to share with my children. My husband and I have been the ones to start the foundation, and it can be really discouraging. When you see people come to events with brothers, sisters, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins in tow, and it is just you and your husband and children there, it is…painful.

I realized something when I read my devotion earlier and then wrote in my journal. I do have a foundation. It just looks different from other people’s foundations. From the people who poured themselves into my life as a teenager and young adult to the grandmother who prayed for me though I was not the best granddaughter I could have been because of family dynamics to the people who are speaking words of encouragement into my sons’ lives now, I have gifts and a foundation that are worth more than a pile of precious jewels. Being related by blood is not the only way of building a foundation. Sometimes, the best way to build a foundation is by being a part of family by choice.

When my sons and their children and their children’s children look back on my life, it is my true hope that, through my words, both written and spoken,  that I have shown how much I love my Lord and Savior and that they have a foundation of faith to draw upon as they build their own faith.

God’s blessings on you today!

Leave a Reply

