Steady Faith versus Mountain-Top Faith

After reading my devotion,  I had some thoughts on these different kinds of faith. Mountain-top faith is usually a faith we all experience when we first experience Christ as Savior. It can also be experienced on retreats we might go on as well as any other situation that brings us into close contact with God.

But, what about the faith that’s there, day in and day out. The faith when you experience financial reversal. The faith when cancer or any other serious illness is diagnosed.  The faith when the dish washer is broken or the child is out of control. I consider this kind of faith a steady faith. This is not a faith I have mastered. I have to work on it every day. I have to get up out of bed and make the choice to have faith in my Lord and Savior no matter what happens.

This kind of faith is spoken of often in Scripture. One of my favorite examples is in Matthew 17:20 where Jesus is speaking. “He replied, ‘Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.’ ” Faith as “small as a mustard seed”. My faith is that small sometimes. But Jesus says that is all that is needed.

Another example would be in 2 Corinthians 5:7.  “For we live by faith, not by sight.”  I am learning more and more about this every day as I walk through the days of my life holding my Savior’s hand.

Ephesians 2:8, one of the verses this blog is based on, is another example. “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.”  Faith, not just for the mountain-top, but for always. I thank God every day for the miracle He has given me–for the grace and for the faith.

And finally, 2 Timothy 4:7, a verse that is said often at funerals. “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” Our lives here on this earth are not meant to be perfect.  That comes later.  But, the faith we display here may make the difference that is needed in someone else’s life.  I pray I display that faith for someone today.

God’s blessings on you today!

Leave a Reply

